

3060 Willamette Drive NE Lacey, WA 98516 360-486-2380 (Phone) 360-486-2381 (Fax) www.waspc.org

# WASPC GENERAL BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES

**THURSDAY MAY 25, 2023** 

President Steve Crown opened the meeting at 9:52 AM. He welcomed everyone to the meeting & recognized Seattle's Finest Security & Traffic Control as the Platinum WASPC Conference sponsor as well as the other conference sponsors.

#### **MINUTES**

Approval of Minutes from November 16, 2022 Meeting.

Motion made Chief Lasnier, Second Chief Kelly. Vote to approve by attendees.

#### **EXECUTIVE BOARD ELECTIONS**

The following positions were open for election on WASPC's Executive Board

- Vice President (Sheriff Position) Sheriff John Nowels nominated
- Treasurer Chief Damon Simmons nominated
- Sheriff at-large Sheriff Clay Myers nominated
- Chief at-large 8 nominations

The following candidates were nominated for Chief at large and shared a few words on why they should be elected;

- Chief Ron Schaub (written letter)
- Chief Paula Schwan (written letter)
- · Chief Jay King
- Chief Jim Kelly
- Chief Kyle Kolling
- Chief Brigit Clary
- Chief Perry Phipps
- Chief Rebecca Mertzig

## **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

During the meeting, committee chairs gave brief updates regarding recent activities. Written committee reports will be posted on the WASPC website committee pages (<a href="https://www.waspc.org/committees">www.waspc.org/committees</a>).

List of WASPC Committees that made reports:

- Boating Safety Sheriff Clay Myers
- Financial Services Chief Brett Vance
- Indian Country LE Chief Mike Lasnier
- Law Enforcement Education & Training David Doll
- Professional Services Sheriff Drew Hyer
- Public Trust Chief Matt Murray
- Traffic Safety Chief Greg Cobb

Serving the Law Enforcement Community and the Citizens of Washington

Wellness & Resilience – Chief Mike Lasnier

Motion made Chief Mike Lasnier, Second Chief Ed Holmes. Vote by attendees to approve reports as provided

#### LIAISON REPORTS

• LEIRA update given by Kirsty Jones

## **OTHER BUSINESS**

- Single Point Firearms updated given by Kevin Berry
- Fight Crime Invest in Kids Update given by Jeff Hansen

## **GOOD OF THE ORDER**

Chief Steve Crown announces the new Executive Board Members following a count of the elections from earlier in the meeting:

- Vice President (Sheriff Position) Sheriff John Nowels nominated
- Treasurer Chief Damon Simmons
- Sheriff at-large Sheriff Clay Myers
- Chief at-large Chief Rebecca Mertzig

## **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR**

Steve Strachan thanked President Steve Crown for his service to the Board and appreciation of his engagement as President this past year.

## **ADJOURN**

President Crown adjourned the meeting at 10:39 am.