

3060 Willamette Drive NE Lacey, WA 98516 360-486-2380 (Phone) 360-486-2381 (Fax) www.waspc.org

President Chief Steve Crown City of Wenatchee

President-Elect Sheriff Kevin Morris Douglas County

Vice President Chief Darrell Lowe City of Redmond

Past President Vacant

Treasurer Chief Brett Vance City of Montesano

Executive Board

Chief Michelle Bennett City of Edmonds

Chief Cherie Harris City of Kirkland

Sheriff Clay Myers Kittitas County

Chief Rafael Padilla City of Kent

Sheriff James Raymond Franklin County

Sheriff Brad Thurman Cowlitz County

Chief Sam White Lower Elwha Klallam Police Department

Chief John Batiste Washington State Patrol

Richard Collodi, SAC FBI—Seattle

Steven D. Strachan Executive Director

EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING MINUTES March 27, 2024 WASPC Offices | 10:00 AM

CALL TO ORDER Sheriff Morris called the meeting to order at 10:03 AM.

Approval of Minutes for 2/7/2024: Motion by Chief Lowe. Second by Chief Mertzig. Motion passed unanimously.

FINANCE COMMITTEE REPORT: Chief Simmons gave the board a finance report.

Financial Statements – Preliminary comparative financial statements are presented in this report. The annual financial statement/federal grant audit is scheduled to begin in early April 2024.

Disbursements: Check number 46317 through 46392 (02/01/2024-03/22/2024) for \$969,879.04 (full listing provided in board packet)

Need motion to APPROVE the report.

Motion by Sheriff Raymond. Second by Chief Lowe. Motion passed unanimously.

WASPC Grant Requests – Grant requests have been received.

1. \$10,000.00 Mill Creek PD – Gym Equipment - Wellness

Recommended staff contact MCPD to discuss other options for funding. WASPC Grant not approved.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR UPDATE: Director Strachan provided an update on Jail & Classification Standards and how they are being reviewed and updated. WASPC is looking to host General Mattis at our Fall Conference as the main speaker. Legislative Committee meeting information will come out soon, there will be 2 – for members to discuss potential topics for 2025 Legislative session.

NEW BUSINESS: The Board was presented with new model policy updates for wellness recommending the Executive Board send the Draft Model Policy to the Model Policy Committee for further development, with the hope that it might be completed and ready for adoption by the Spring 2024 Conference.

Motion by Sheriff Raymond. Second by Chief Crown. Motion passed unanimously.

Director Strachan presented to the Board concerns of unbecoming statements made by current WASPC member, Loren Culp of Klickitat County. Per WASPC's Bylaws, a member may be expelled by a vote of at least eight (8) board members. Before such a vote, the member must be provided 20 days' notice of the proposed expulsion and an opportunity to respond.

Serving the Law Enforcement Community and the Citizens of Washington

Motion to approve by Sheriff Raymond. Second by Chief Bennett. Motion passed unanimously.

We had the following MEMBERSHIP APPLICATIONS to review:

			Lab Tiala		Membership
[Name First]	[Name Last]	[Organization]	Job Title	Sponsor	Туре
Robert	Miller	Joint Base Lewis McChord- JBLM	Chief of Police	Chief Newman	Active
Jason	Youngman	Edgewood Police Department	Chief	Sheriff Troyer	Active
				-	
Davis	Abbott	City of Tumwater	Assistant City Attorney	Chief Weiks	Affiliate
Ashley	Korslien	Clark County Sheriff's Office	Communications Manager	Sheriff Horch	Affiliate
Nichole	McNiven	Puyallup Police Department	Administrative Assistant - Accreditation Manager	Chief Engle	Affiliate
Ross	Adams	Lake Forest Park Police Department	Sergeant	Chief Harden	Associate
Derek	Allen	Jefferson County Sheriff's Office	Detective	Sheriff Nole	Associate
Andy	Brandon	Port Orchard Police Department	Deputy Chief	Chief Brown	Associate
Christopher	Burger	Auburn Police Department	Commander	Chief Caillier	Associate
Cameron	Clasen	Ellensburg Police Department	Captain	Chief Wade	Associate
Joshua	Combs	Benton County Corrections Department	Administrative Lieutenant	Chief Guerrero	Associate
Tyrone	Davis	Seattle Police Department	Assistant Chief - Special Operations Bureau	Chief Diaz	Associate
Lacey	DelValle	Black Diamond Police Department	Police Sergeant	Chief Kiblinger	Associate
Karen	Elings	Klickitat County Sheriff's Office	Chief Civil Deputy	Sheriff Songer	Associate
Steven	Harris	Whatcom Co Sheriffs Office	Undersheriff	Sheriff Tanksley	Associate
Alan	Iwashita	Port Orchard Police Dept	Deputy Chief	Chief Brown	Associate
Brian	Jorgensen	Lynnwood Police Department	Commander	Chief Langdon	Associate
Jeremy	Kramer	Burlignton Police Department	Commander	Chief Luvera	Associate
Isaac	Merkl	Kennewick Police Department	Commander	Chief Guerrero	Associate
David	Puente	Redmond Police Department	Captain	Chief Lowe	Associate
Jose	Santoy	Kennewick Police Department	Commander	Chief Guererro	Associate
Cory	Stanton	King County Sheriff's Office	Captain	Chief Myers	Associate
John	VanderYacht	Ferndale Police Department	Lieutenant	Chief Turner	Associate
Elizabeth	Waknitz	Clallam County Sheriff's Office	Chief Civil Deputy	Sheriff King	Associate
Mark	Williams	Suquamish Police Department	Deputy Chief of Police	Chief Almirol	Associate
Curtis	Zatylny	Lynnwood Police Department	Commander of Police	Chief Langson	Associate
					Membership Transfer -
Julie	Beard	Bothell	Deputy Chief	Chief Seuberlich	Associate
	•	+	•		•

Motion to approve membership applications by Chief Lowe. Seconded by Sheriff Nowel. Motion passed unanimously.

We had the following LIFE MEMBERSHIP NOMINATIONS to review:

Retired Sheriff Bill Elfo of Whatcom County.

Motion to approve by Sheriff Thurman. Seconded by Sheriff Raymond. Motion passed unanimously.

The board was made aware of New Committee Chair Appointments

- Wellness & Resilience Committee Chief Seuberlich
- Indian Country Committee Chief Almirol
- Membership Committee Chief Gately

Executive Board Meeting Schedule

- May 2024 | Spokane Convention Center
- September 16 18, 2024 | Retreat Campbell's Resort
- November 2024 | Three Rivers Convention Center

Meeting adjourned by Sheriff Morris at 10:51 AM.