

3060 Willamette Drive NE Lacey, WA 98516 360-486-2380 (Phone) 360-486-2381 (Fax) www.waspc.org

President

Chief Darrell Lowe City of Redmond

President-Elect

Sheriff John Nowels Spokane County

Vice President

Chief Rafael Padilla City of Kent

Past President

Sheriff Kevin Morris Douglas County

Treasurer

Chief Damon Simmons City of Liberty Lake

Executive Board

Chief Michelle Bennett City of Edmonds

Chief Rebecca Mertzig
City of Bellingham

Sheriff Clay Myers Kittitas County

Chief Greg Cobb Union Gap Police Department

Sheriff James Raymond Franklin County

Sheriff Brad Thurman Cowlitz County

Chief Sam White Lower Elwha Klallam Police Department

Chief John Batiste Washington State Patrol

Richard Collodi, SAC FBI—Seattle

Steven D. Strachan Executive Director

EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING MINUTES

May 22, 2024 Spokane Convention Center | 8:00 AM

CALL TO ORDER

Sheriff Morris called the meeting to order at 8:01 AM.

Approval of Minutes for 3/27/2024 & 4/29/24: Motion by Sheriff Myers. Second by Chief Bennett. Motion passed unanimously.

FINANCE COMMITTEE REPORT: Chief Simmons gave the board a finance report. **2023 Financial Statement and Federal Grant Audit** – Audit has been completed. Treasurer Simmons and Kim met with the audit team to get the report. There were no findings to report and additionally, they did not have any management comments. The audited financial statements and audit report are available. See Kim if you'd like a copy.

Financial Statements - The statements are presented through February 2024. Figures under the 2023 columns represent the full year. No concerns to note in the statements. Expenses and revenues are as expected. Page 2, Revenues (Sales) Increase relates to the newly implemented accreditation annual fee. Conference revenues are only exhibitor fees and sponsorships.

<u>Disbursements:</u> Check number 46393 through 46567 (03/25/24- 5/17/24) for \$5,657,779.70 (full listing provided in board packet)

Motion by Chief Batiste. Second by Chief Padilla. Motion passed unanimously.

IRS Desk Audit - The internal revenue service has completed their review. They noted one item, relating to a distribution under \$1000. Staff has worked with our retirement plan administrator and the distribution has been completed. No further action needed.

WASPC Grant Requests – One grant request has been received and is included in the packet.

1. Snoqualmie PD – Requesting LEMAP support. Finance Committee and staff recommend approving this request for \$4000.

Motion to approve Grant Request by Chief Batiste. Second by Chief Lowe. Motion passed unanimously.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR UPDATE: Director Strachan provided several updates including update on Jail Liason to help manage the interstate warrants/chain with a potential ad/hoc committee in the future, Peer Support update to create a Wellness support for executives, OFM Data Study info, introduced new WATPA Executive Director – Bryan Jeter, & Taylor Gardner facilitating a legal advisors group – meeting once a month.

NEW BUSINESS: The Board was presented with the current accrediting agencies:

Re-accrediting agencies:

- Bellingham PD
- College Place PD
- Fife PD
- Lacey PD
- Lake Stevens PD
- Othello PD

Leading collaboration among law enforcement professionals to enhance public safety.

- SCORE
- Sequim PD

New Accrediting Agencies:

- Arlington PD
- Renton PD
- Snohomish County SO

Motion by Sheriff Myers. Second by Chief Lowe. Motion passed unanimously.

The Board was presented with Accreditation New Standard Review by David Doll.

Motion to approve by Sheriff Myer. Second by Chief Bennett. Motion passed unanimously.

We had the following MEMBERSHIP APPLICATIONS to review:

[Contact Name]	[Organization]	Job Title	Sponsor	Membership Type
Dennis Flynn	Battle Ground Police Department	Chief of Police	Sheriff John Horch	Active
David Hinchliff	City of Kittitas Police Department	Chief of Police	Sheriff Clay Myers	Active
Alexander Hawley	Brier Police Department	Chief	Chief Jeff Beazizo	Active
Jeanette Hurt	WSU Vancouver PD	Director of Public Safety and Parking Services	Chief Gary Jenkins	Active
John Mason	Wahkiakum Sheriff's Department	Sheriff (Starting membership July 1, 2024)	Sheriff Brad Thurman	Active
Beau Ayers	Bremerton Police Department	Sergeant	Chief Tom Wolfe	Associate
John Southard	Sequim Police Department	Deputy Chief	Chief Mike Hill	Associate
Shawn Ziemann	Poulsbo Police Department	Police Sergeant	Chief Ron Harding	Associate
David Reames	Drug Enforcement Administration	Special Agent in Charge	SAC, Ric Collodi	Associate
Steve McDonald	Snohomish County Sheriff's Office	Captain / Spec Ops and Investigations	Sheriff, Susanna Johnson	Associate
Tyler Provenzo	Snohomish County Sheriff's Office	Detective	Sheriff, Susanna Johnson	Associate
Brett Yeadon	Everett Police Department	Police Lieutenant	Chief John DeRousse	Associate
Barry Lovell	Whatcom County Sheriff's Office	Lieutenant	Sheriff Donnell Tanksley	Associate
Wayne Blackard	Puyallup Police Department	Police Captain	Chief Scott Engle	Associate
Kevin Gill	Puyallup Police Department	Police Captain	Chief Scott Engle	Associate
Aaron Garza	Othello Police Department	Assistant Chief	Chief Dave Rahaume	Associate
Mike DeRoche	Shelton Police Dept	SGT	Chief Chris Kostad	Associate
Tim Barnes	Seattle Police Department	Detective	Chief Adrian Diaz	Associate
Lacey Slater	Benton County Corrections Department	Corrections Lieutenant	Sheriff Croskrey	Associate
Kasey Kist	Benton County Corrections Department	Lieutenant	Sheriff Croskrey	Associate
Christopher Oakes	Cheney Police Department	Lieutenant	Chief Richard Beghtol	Associate
Tony Hughes	WA State Gambing Commission	Agent in Charge	Director Tina Griffina	Associate
Josh Shelton	Benton County Corrections Department	Lieutenant	Sheriff Croskrey	Associate
Rana Hoover	Pacific Police Department	Police Records Coordinator	Chief Robert Hendrickson	Affiliate
Catherine Tolentino	King County Sheriff's Office	Project/Program Manager II/Accreditation Manager	Sheriff Patti Cole-Tindall	Affiliate
Joseph Engman	King County Sheriff's Office	Policy Development Manager	Sheriff Patti Cole-Tindall	Affiliate
Nicole Summers	South Correctional Entity	Accreditation Manager	Devon Schrum	Affiliate
Rodger Funk	Blaine Police Department	Chief	Previously Whatcom Count	Membership Transfer

Motion to approve membership applications by Sheriff Thurman. Seconded by Chief Batiste. Motion passed unanimously.

Executive Board Meeting Schedule

- September 16 18, 2024 | Retreat Campbell's Resort
- November 18 21, 2024 | Three Rivers Convention Center

Meeting adjourned by Sheriff Morris at 8:51 AM.