

3060 Willamette Drive NE Lacey, WA 98516 360-486-2380 (Phone) 360-486-2381 (Fax) www.waspc.org

President

Chief Darrell Lowe City of Redmond

President-Elect

Sheriff John Nowels Spokane County

Vice President

Chief Rafael Padilla City of Kent

Past President

Sheriff Kevin Morris Douglas County

Treasurer

Chief Damon Simmons City of Liberty Lake

Executive Board

Chief Michelle Bennett City of Edmonds

Chief Rebecca Mertzig City of Bellingham

Sheriff Clay Myers Kittitas County

Chief Greg Cobb Union Gap Police Department

Sheriff James Raymond Franklin County

Sheriff Brad Thurman Cowlitz County

Chief Sam White Lower Elwha Klallam Police Department

Chief John Batiste Washington State Patrol

Richard Collodi, SAC FBI—Seattle

Steven D. Strachan Executive Director

EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING MINUTES

September 18, 2024 | 9:00 AM Campbells Resort, Chelan

CALL TO ORDER:

President Darrell Lowe called the meeting to order at 9:22 AM.

Approval of Minutes for 5/22/2024: **Motion by Chief Padilla. Second by Chief Bennett. Motion passed unanimously.**

FINANCE COMMITTEE REPORT:

Financial Statements - The statements are presented through June 2024. Figures under the 2023 columns represent the full year.

No concerns to note in the statements. Expenses and revenues are as expected.

Cash on hand is adequate for operations. Revenues (Sales) Increase relates to the newly implemented accreditation annual fee. Conference revenues are spring only registrations, exhibitor and sponsorships. Grant revenue and expense fluctuations are primarily due to timing, i.e., grant period begin and end dates. Expenses (travel) reduction – Legislative/Policy staff on-boarding expense in previous year. R&M – Painting, landscaping, etc. Miscellaneous, bank fees (majority will happen with vendor booth fee payments)

Disbursements: Check number 46568 through 46884 (05/18/24- 09/12/24) for \$9,991,546.15 (full listing provided in board packet)

Need motion to APPROVE the financial statements and disbursements. **Motion by Sheriff Myers. Second by Chief Bennett. Motion passed unanimously.**

WASPC Grant Requests -

The finance committee will review the current WASPC grant guidelines at the November conference with the intent of refining and updating the desired grant request information and grant application form.

Two grant requests have been received and are included in the packet.

Marysville PD – Requesting LEMAP support. Finance Committee and staff recommend approving this request for \$3000.

Prosser PD – Emergency radio purchase

Need motion to APPROVE any grant requests. **Motion by Sheriff Myers. Second by Sheriff Nowels. Motion passed unanimously.**

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR UPDATE:

Director Strachan provided an update on the request to join an amicus brief regarding local government liability. AWC would join WASPC in this effort.

NEW BUSINESS:

David Doll provided an update on Accrediting agencies national standards.

Need motion to APPROVE the new accrediting national standards. **Motion by Chief Mertzig. Second by Chief Padilla. Motion passed unanimously.**

James McMahan provided the proposed 2025 Legislative Agenda items for WASPC per the Legislative Committee. Need motion to APPROVE the 2025 Legislative Agenda. **Motion by Sheriff Myers. Second by Sheriff Thurman. Motion passed unanimously.**

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

The board reviewed a new contract for Executive Director Steven D Strachan to renew his employment.

Need motion to APPROVE Executive Director's contract. **Motion by Chief Bennett. Second by Sheriff Raymond. Motion passed unanimously.**

GOOD OF THE ORDER:

Membership applications were reviewed by the Executive Board.

Membership

Transfers			Sponsor
Andrew Illyn	Mukilteo Police Department	Transfer to Chief of Police	

Active Membership Applications

Kevin Hall	Spokane Police Department	Chief of Police	Sheriff Nowels
Dustin Soptich	Selah Police Department	Chief of Police	Chief Greg Cobb

Associate Applications

Applications			•
Steve Beck	Grays Harbor County Sheriff's Office	Detective Sergeant	Sheriff Wallace
Christopher			
Champagne	Milton Police Department	Assistant Chief of Police	Chief Hernandez
Colt Davis	Mukilteo Police Department	Assistant Chief of Police	Chief Illyn
Ron Deist	DEA	Assistant Special Agent in Charge	Chief Meidl
Joseph Fitzpatrick	Puyallup Tribal Police	Lieutenant	Chief Duenas
Jeff Berys	Puyallup Tribal PD	Lieutenant	Chief Duenas
Douglas Johns	Puyallup Tribal Police Department	Lieutenant	Chief Duenas
Christopher Skidmore	Clark County Sheriff's Office	Public Information Officer - Sergeant	Sheriff Horch
Kevin Barton	Oak Harbor Police Department	Captain	Chief Slowik
Mavic Hizon	Redmond Police Department	Civilian Commander	Chief Lowe
Kevin Grossman	University of Washington Police Department	Deputy Chief	Chief Craig Wilson
Joseph Waldon	Lacey Police Department	Lieutenant	Chief Almada
David MacLurg	Lacey Police Department	Police Officer	Chief Almada
Greg Blaylock	Shelton Police Department	Officer	Chief Kostad
Andee Walton	Port Orchard Police Department	Detective Sergeant	Chief Matt Brown
Jerry Coley II	JBLM Police Department	Deputy Chief of Police	Chief Robert Miller

Kevin Penney	Des Moines Police Department	Assistant Chief	Chief Couey
Phil Johnson	Kent Police Department	Commander	Chief Padilla
Debbie Wilson	Washington State Patrol	Captain	Chief Batiste
William Loescher	Puyallup Tribal Police	Lieutenant	Chief Duenas
Jimmy Thompson	Lower Elwha Police Department	Lieutenant	Chief Sam White
Shannon Barnes	Lacey Police Department	Lieutenant	Chief Almada

Affiliate Applications

Cori Baker	Clyde Hill Police Department	Public Records Manager	Chief Kolling
Ariane Fox	Lake Stevens Police dept	Records Supervisor	Chief Beazizo
Jack Rosenthal	Altitude Risk Mitigation, LLC	Owner	Sheriff Nowels
Meara Katzer	Marysville Police Department	Police Records & Evidence Supervisor	Chief Scairpon
Caitlin Morganti	Bellingham Police Department	Police Support Records Specialist	Chief Mertzig
Jennifer Simmons	Bellingham Police Department	Records Support Services Specialist	Chief Mertzig
Erik Furer	Tacoma Police Department	Deputy City Attorney	Chief Moore
Barbara Luton	Whatcom County Sheriff's Office	Office Administrator	Sheriff Tanksley
Scott Hayman	New York Life Insurance	Agent	Chief Ron Harding
Jeff Smith	Nisqually Corrections	Jail Manager	Chief Duenas
Jason Whalen	City of Auburn	Attorney	Chief Caillier
Gabriela Sanchez	Pasco Police Department	Accreditation Specialist	Chief Roske

Need motion to APPROVE membership applications. **Motion by Sheriff Thurman. Second by Chief Padilla. Motion passed unanimously.**

Life membership nominations for Ed Holmes, Mike Lasnier & Mark Howie were reviewed by the Executive Board. Need motion to APPROVE Life Membership Nominations. **Motion by Sheriff Myers. Second by Chief Bennett. Motion passed unanimously.**

Executive Board Meeting Schedule

- November 18 21, 2024 | Three Rivers Convention Center
- February 5, 2025 | WASPC Offices
- April 9, 2025 | Virtual
- May 21, 2025 | Spokane Convention Center
- September | Campbells Resort
- November 11, 2025 | Three Rivers Convention Center

Meeting adjourned by Sheriff Morris at 9:47 AM.